African Fact-Checking Awards 2023 for Journalistic Excellence in Africa (USD7,000+ in Prizes)

The African Fact-Checking Awards, the longest-running awards programme honouring fact-checking journalism by the media in Africa, are in their tenth year.  Entries for the 2023 awards are now open to journalists, journalism students, and professional fact-checkers – across the continent.


To qualify, entries must have been first published or broadcast in the period from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023. The fact-check should conclude that a claim about an important topic, originating in or relevant to Africa, is either misleading or wrong. Other eligible requirements include:

  • Be the original work of the individual or team identified in the entry form as the author.
  • Expose a claim on an important topic that originated in or is relevant to Africa as misleading or wrong.
  • Be an original piece of fact-checking journalism first published or broadcast on any date from 1 July 2022 to 30 June 2023.
  • Be received by the organizers before midnight GMT on 30 June 2023. Late entries will not be accepted.
  • Be received by the organizers via the official entry form. No other means of sending in entries is allowed.
  • Fact-checks can be published/broadcast in any language, but entry forms must be completed in either English or French. However, should the fact-checking report not be in English or French, a written translation must be submitted with the entry.
  • By submitting an entry, the entrant confirms that they are the authors of the work, and that in the case of any dispute about this, this is entirely the entrant’s responsibility
  • Reports published by Africa Check are not eligible for the competition.
  • Judges reserve the right to move an entry from one category to another.
  • Candidates can only enter for the awards in one category per year, but can submit more than one report if they choose.
  • Should the entrant win a prize in the awards, we will send the money to a bank account to be nominated by them.
  • At the shortlisting stage a representative of the jury may seek clarification on some points.
  • Entrants who are found to be unethical about any aspect related to their entry will be disqualified.
  • Entrants must agree to do media interviews and/or reports about the awards if they win.
  • Entrants for the awards must agree to accept the judges’ decision as final.

Duration and Benefits:

  • The winners of the working journalist and professional fact-checker categories will each get a prize of US$3,000.
  • The runners-up will receive $1,500.
  • The winner of the student journalist category will be awarded $2,000, and the runner-up $1,000.

How to Apply

Interested and qualified candidates should apply using the button below or click this link

Deadline: 30th June, 2023

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

OPEC Fund Annual Award for Development 2023 ($100,000 prize)

UNESCO International Fund for Cultural Diversity 2023 (up to $100,000)