South Africa Win Toss And Put India Into Bat In Third ODI

Related image


At the venue known for low scoring matches, hosts South Africa won the toss and surprisingly asked India to bat first at the Newland ground in Cape Town on Wednesday.

The stand-in South African skipper Aiden Markram, however, justified his decision when he said: “We understand India do chase well. There may be some assistance up first. Klaasen and Lungi Ngidi make their debut. No Morne Morkel. Andile is back for for Shamsi. We spent our time on mental preparation.”

On the other hand the Indian captain Virat Kohli said that they got what they wanted. “We wanted to bat first anyway. We thought it would do more under lights. We want their batting to chase a score, knowing their middle is not too solid. It’ll only get drier during the day. Same XI.”


South Africa: Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram (capt), JP Duminy, Heinrich Klaasen (wk), David Miller, Khaya Zondo, Chris Morris, Andile Phehlukwayo, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, Imran Tahir

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Kedar Jadav, Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Yuzvendra Chahal


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *