Scholarships in Ophthalmology, University of Edinburgh, UK -2023

Twelve online learning Masters scholarships are available in the field of Ophthalmology for students from Africa, Central and South Asia, Caribbean Islands, Pacific Islands, Central and Latin America who have been accepted for admission to the two-year, part-time online ChM (Master of Surgery) in Clinical Ophthalmology in academic session 2023-2024.

Application Deadline: Thursday 1st June 2023 23:59 BST.

Type: Masters

Number of Awards: Twelve

Value of Awards: Each scholarship will cover the tuition fee for the entire programme of study and funding towards a laptop and internet service. The award is tenable for two academic years, subject to academic progress.

Eligibility: To be eligible for this scholarship, applicants should;

  • be senior trainees/residents/registrars in ophthalmology.  Applications from early career ophthalmologists may also be considered.

Eligible Countries: Six scholarships will be allocated to eligible candidates from member countries of The College of Ophthalmology of Eastern, Central and Southern Africa (COECSA) (Burundi, Ethiopia, Kenya, Malawi, Rwanda, South Sudan (Republic), Uganda, Tanzania, Zambia). In addition, six scholarships will be allocated to eligible candidates from the other countries listed below:

AlgeriaColombiaHondurasMozambiqueSri Lanka
AzerbaijanCongo (Democratic Republic)Ivory CoastNicaraguaSwaziland
BangladeshCosta RicaKazakhstanNigerTajikistan
BeninEast Timor (Timor Leste)KyrgyzstanPakistanThailand
BoliviaEcuadorLaos [Lao PDR]PanamaTogo
BrazilEl SalvadorLiberiaPeruTurkmenistan
Brunei [Brunei Darussalam]Equatorial GuineaLibyaPhilippinesUganda
Burkina (Burkina Faso)EritreaMadagascarRwandaUkraine
Burma [Myanmar]EthiopiaMalawiSao Tome and PrincipeUruguay
CambodiaGambia, TheMaliSeychellesVenezuela
CameroonGhanaMauritaniaSierra LeoneVietnam
Cape VerdeGuatemalaMauritiusSingaporeZambia
Central African RepublicGuineaMexicoSomaliaZimbabwe
ChadGuinea-BissauMongoliaSouth Africa
ChileGuyanaMoroccoSouth Sudan

Also eligible are applicants (nationals and residents) of the:

Caribbean Islands

Pacific Islands

Criteria: Selection is based on academic merit and the personal statement in which you describe your current contribution to your country’s local and national ophthalmology development plans and how you will use the scholarship to further contribute to the development of ophthalmology services in your country.

Successful applicants will be committed to working in their country’s ophthalmology service on completion of their studies; to using their new found skills to further enhance and develop the service; and to fostering clinical and academic links between their country’s medical universities, ophthalmology teaching hospitals and research institutes and The University of Edinburgh.

How to Apply:

  1. Complete an online EUCLID application for the ChM (Master of Surgery) in Clinical Ophthalmology – instructions on full application process can be found on the University’s degree finder page here.  Wait for decision on application via EUCLID.
  2. If eligible to join the course, you will be given a conditional or unconditional offer, which you must accept prior to applying for a scholarship.
  3. Apply online for the scholarship via the Edinburgh Surgery Online (ESO) website’s Scholarships section

Notification: All applicants will be notified of the outcome by the end of July 2023. Please note that acceptance for admission to the ChM does not guarantee acceptance for a scholarship. The admission and scholarship applications are two separate online application processes.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2023 Leeds University Business School Scholarship For International Students

2023 Australian Government RTP Scholarship, University of Sydney