Learn More About The 11 Official Languages Of South Africa- Its A Need To Know

South Africa is not called the rainbow country to no end! With such an assorted social scene, it was unavoidable that the languages of South Africa would likewise turn into a hot pot of contrasts.

Alongside the eleven official languages spoken in South Africa, numerous others, including different African, European and Asian dialects are additionally spoken. A portion of alternate dialects talked and specified in the Constitution include: Khoi, Nama and San dialects, communication through signing, Arabic, German, Greek, Gujarati, Hebrew, Hindi, Portuguese, Sanskrit, Tamil, Telegu, and Urdu.

The main language of business, politics, and the media, is English. English is also the most common language most South Africans will be able to understand. South African English, and indeed, most of the other official languages, lend heavily from each other, creating a type of universal South African “slang”, which incorporates words from various different languages.

Image result for Tsonga LANGUAGE

Nearly 50% of South African inhabitant understand Zulu, with many Xhosa speakers being quite fluent in Zulu, and vise versa. The Zulu language is spoken especially in KwaZulu Natal, as well as the other African countries of Swaziland and Lesotho.

South African English has borrowed many words from the Zulu language, and incorporated it into its vocabulary. Examples of these are donga (ditch), indaba (conference). Two Zulu animal names, Impala, and Mamba, are included in Standard English.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *