in ,

Do You Know South Africa Legally Has Three Unofficial Capital Cities

Legitimately, South Africa does not have one particular national capital. The administration is made  into three branches, to be specific the authoritative, official, and legal. Each branch is managed from an alternate city. Cape Town, for instance, is the authoritative focus and seat of Parliament. The Constitution of South Africa, in any case, gives Parliament the privilege to move its organization to some other city. Pretoria is home to the official branch and is the seat of the President and the Cabinet. The legal branch of government is done in Bloemfontein, where the Supreme Court of Appeal is found.

This article takes a closer look at these 3 unofficial capital cities.

Cape Town

After several attempts by the British to take control of the area, Cape Town became a British colony in 1814 when it was designated as the colonial capital. Two Boer republics and Natal, a British colony, were joined with the Cape Colony in 1910, founding the Union of South Africa. Cape Town was then established as its legislative seat. Today, this city has a population of approximately 3,740,000 and is the economic center of Western Cape Province.


Pretoria, the seat of the executive branch, is located in Gauteng Province. Its importance as a governmental center began in 1860 when it was declared the capital of the South African Republic. This city was the site of signing the peace treaty that ended the First Boer War, but the city eventually surrendered to the British in 1900 during the Second Boer War. When the Union of South Africa was created in 1910, Pretoria became the administrative capital. Today, most of the foreign embassies in South Africa can be found in Pretoria.

Image result for pRETORIA


Bloemfontein is the judicial capital of South Africa, as well as the provincial capital of the Free State Province. This city got its official start in 1846 as a fort for the British army, although the area had been previously inhabited. Two years later, the area surrounding the city became the Orange River Sovereignty and in 1854, it became the Orange Free State. At this time, Bloemfontein became the capital and began to expand.


Written by How South Africa

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

8 Things That Makes South Africa Unique

Meet The Major Religions Widely Practiced In South Africa