Club Rugby Facing Dark Times Ahead

KZN Rugby Union (KZNRU) President Francois Louis, KZNRU general manager Siseko Jafta and Sharks/KZNRU Chief Finanical Officer Wessel Strydom attended the annual Zululand Rugby Sub Union AGM on Wednesday evening at Mick Kelly Park, as part of their ‘transparency’ tour to enlighten clubs all over the province about the structures and finances of the KZNRU and Sharks.

Some worrisome issues that came out of the meeting were the fact that the club grant will be decreased from R2.1-million to R1-million next year, with no club grants being paid out to the sub unions from 2019 onwards.

This is a major issue for local clubs, as the grant helps out in a big financial way and will hinder or cripple smaller clubs such as Hluhluwe, Mtubatuba, Pongola, eShowe and Mandini.

Another standout moment in the meeting was the election of new Zululand Sub Union President, Junior Makhoba.

Former President Pieter Hassard decided to step down after serving the union for a number of years and after making a huge difference to rugby in the Zululand area.

All local clubs have been battling financially and have the municipalities on their backs, wanting to reclaim the club’s land or charge astronomical fees.

With the latest news ,one cannot help but argue that club rugby in Zululand will head downwards in a deep and dark spiral and maybe in a few years from now stop completely.

This will be sad to see, as ‘platteland’ rugby is what feeds the provincial and national sides.
Without club rugby, rugby in the province will slowly die out.

Rugby Sub Union Office Bearers for 2018 –

Honorary President – Chris Edwards, Honorary Vice Presidents – KW McIlrath, Doug Pringle, Mike Harrison and Pieter Hassard, President – Junior Makhoba, Vice Presidents – Willie Robins and Ian van Lelyveld, Members of the Executive – Rynie Kearns and Koos van Niekerk and Zululand Selectors – Danie Vermaak and Willie Robins.

Executive Committee for 2018 –

Honourable Secretary – John Kearns, Honourable Treasurer – Dagwood van Vuuren, ZRSU Delegates to the NRU AGM – Junior Makhoba and Willie Robins and Zululand Representatives on the NRU Council – Junior Makhoba and Willie Robins.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *