2017 FIFA Football Awards: Everything You Ought To Know

Well, everyone is talking about Cristiano Ronaldo after he won the Best FIFA Men’s Player award at the London Palladium. This is the second edition of the Best FIFA Football Awards since FIFA ended its association with the Ballon d’Or prize. You will recall that the Real Madrid forward beat Barcelona’s Lionel Messi to take the crown of the world’s best player at the inaugural Best FIFA Football Awards in Zurich. Some months before that, the Portugal star bagged his fourth Ballon d’Or which was solely awarded by France Football.  – Cristiano Ronaldo deserves the attention he’s been getting. But then, there are more things to know about the 2017 FIFA Football Awards.

Here are the details:

1. Yes, Cristiano Ronaldo Walked by Messi and Neymar Being the recipient of the inaugural The Best FIFA Men’s Player Award, Cristiano Ronaldo retained his position as the Best FIFA Men’s Player. The Finalists are Lionel Messi of the Argentinian national team and Neymar of the Brazilian national team. The Barcelona’s and Paris St-Germain’s forward have both been fantastic. But, the crown is for Cristiano irrespective of Portugal’s semi-final loss in the 2017 FIFA Confederations Cup Russia. His superlative season in which he won the Spanish league, the FIFA Club World Cup and the UEFA Champions League crown handed him the second consecutive The Best award. Meanwhile, Netherlands’ Lieke Martens is the new queen of the women’s game.

2. Zinedine ZIDANE Is The Best FIFA Men’s Coach You’d agree that Real Madrid has blazing since ZiZou was appointed the manager of the Spain giant. Zidane helped Real Madrid grab the UEFA Champions League title in his inaugural season. For this reason, he made the three-man shortlist for The Best FIFA Men’s Coach 2016 award.  But then, ZiZou ensured that Real retained the European football crown with a 4-1 triumph against Juventus in the 2016/2017 final. More to that, the French legend helped Los Blancos reclaim the Liga title for the first time in five years. Also, he oversaw the club’s victory in the 2016 FIFA Club World Cup.  In all, Zinedine Zidane has a perfect record of five wins in five finals since he started managing Real. No coach has a better record to take this award.

The Finalists are Italian nationals – Juventus’s Massimiliano Allegri and Chelsea’s Antonio CONTE. The Best FIFA Women’s Coach is Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman.

Check Out – IAAF Athletics Awards: 3 South Africans Nominated For The Prize

3. Gianluigi Buffon Is The Best FIFA Goalkeeper The Italian national conquered Costa Rica’s Keylor Navas and Germany’s Manuel Neuer to take the prize in the 2017 FIFA Football Awards. Though he was guarding the goalpost when Juve suffered a 4-1 defeat from Real in the 2016/2017 UEFA final, there’s no better goalkeeper to walk home with this award.

Buffon was named the inaugural Best FIFA Goalkeeper for these reasons: He guided Juve to a record sixth consecutive Serie A title, his 8th with the club. This saw Gigi equal the all-time record as the player with most Italian league victories.  Buffon went 600 minutes without conceding in last season UEFA Champions League;  He kept 25 clean sheets in 50 games for club and country during the 2016/17 season. Mind you, he attained all these notwithstanding he’s “old”. Buffon is approaching his 40th birthday.

4. Olivier Giroud was Honoured for the Best Goal of 2016/17 Season  The French professional footballer plays as a forward for Premier League club, Arsenal and the France national team. He scored the goal against Crystal Palace in the English Premier League on 1st January 2017. If you’re reading this, you know the goal. But, let’s check it out again: Under this category, the finalists are Venezuela’s Deyna Castellanos and South Africa’s Masuluke Oscarine.

5. Celtic Supporters won the Fan Award  As decided by football fans across the world, Celtic supporters are the winners of the 2017 FIFA Fan Award. Celtic supporters were voted for the prize because of the charming display they presented at Celtic’s final league match of the season. It happened that the final match of Celtic’s domestic league campaign coincided with the 50th anniversary of the club’s winning of the European Cup in 1967. To mark this, Celtic supporters arranged a 360-degree card display around the Celtic part to honour the Lisbon Lions (the nickname given to the Celtic team that won the 1967 European Cup). Eventually, Celtic won the match to make perfect their undefeated league season. Read Also – Tom van Vollenhoven: 5 Fast Facts About The Late Springbok Back

6. Who made FIFA FIFPro World11 2017?  As voted by thousands of professional players, these are the 11 stars who earned a place in the FIFA FIFPro World11: Gianluigi Buffon; Dani Alves, Leonardo Bonucci, Sergio Ramos, Marcelo; Toni Kroos, Andres Iniesta, Luka Modric; Cristiano Ronaldo, Lionel Messi and Neymar.

7. Togolese Player won the Fair Play Award We mustn’t forget that Slovacko’s Togolese player was also honoured in the 2017 FIFA Football Awards. Francis Kone won the Fair Play Award for saving the life of Bohemians goalkeeper, Martin Berkovec. Kone administered first aid treatment to the opposing player after he was knocked unconscious in a collision.



Written by southhow

[g1_socials_user user="1" icon_size="28" icon_color="text"]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Mbalula slaps down woman

Zuma Will Take Decision To Deploy Army To Crime Hotspots – Mbalula

Students Demand Immediate Release Of Fees Commission Report