List of ANC NEC Members Who Protected Zuma vs. Those Who Chose South Africa

South Africa's president and South African ruling party African National Congress (ANC) president Jacob Zuma (C) waves to a cheering crowd as he conducts a door-to-door electoral campaign in Duduza, in the East Rand, on April 25, 2014. The ANC is expected to win the May 7 election easily -- riding on its "struggle" credentials -- but possibly with a reduced majority. AFP PHOTO / GIANLUIGI GUERCIA (Photo credit should read GIANLUIGI GUERCIA/AFP/Getty Images)

Tourism minister Derek Hanekom over the weekend took a bold step and tabled a motion to remove Zuma as president. The move quickly gained momentum, but only while most of Zuma’s loyalists were in Stellenbosch for a wedding.

The Zuma camp quickly mobilised and descended on Irene where the NEC meeting took place. While South Africans hoped for the best, party members deliberated, debated and at the end of the day it would seem as if the president survived yet again… the ANC is set to formally announce the NEC decision on Tuesday at 2pm.

Now, while the move to save the ruling party from itself seems to have failed, it’s interesting to note who moved in which direction.

So, in camp Zuma we have:

  • Free State premier Ace Magashule
  • North West premier Supra Mahumapelo
  • Minister of State Security David Mahlobo
  • Minister of home affairs Malusi Gigaba
  • Minister of sport and recreation Fikile Mbalula
  • African Union chair Nkosazana Dlamini-Zuma
  • International Relations Minister Maite Nkoane Mashabane
  • Minister of agriculture Senzeni Zokwana

And those who supported the motion to have Zuma step down:

  • Tourism minister Derek Hanekom
  • Minister of Health Aaron Motsoaledi
  • Public works minister, Thulas Nxesi
  • Finance minister Pravin Gordhan
  • Gauteng ANC chair Paul Mashatile
  • Former Deputy Minister of Economic Development Enoch Godongwana
  • Deputy Minister of Defence and Military Veterans Kebby Maphatsoe
  • ANC chief whip Jackson Mthembu

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *