You can send your own live video — or a live video that you are watching — to a friend or a group of friends to encourage them to watch. Friends can only view your video if you’re currently live. If your live video is over, your friend will see a message saying the video has ended.
When you’re live, just tap the Direct icon at the bottom of the screen and send your live video to friends. You’ll also have this option when going live with a friend. Once sent, the recipient will see your live video in their Direct inbox.
This update is available as part of Instagram version 26 available for iOS in the Apple App Store and for Android in Google Play.