The Full List Of People Vying To Fill Public Protector Thuli Madonsela’s Shoes

Thuli Madonsela

The full list of candidates who have been nominated for the post of Public Protector has been released.

There will be 59 people vying to fill Public Protector Thuli Madonsela’s shoes.

This after the list of candidates was whittled down from candidates who declined and those who did not respond to their nominations, Parliament’s public protector ad hoc committee said on Tuesday.

Members of the public have until July 8 to make objections to any of these candidates.

Committee chairperson Makhosi Khoza said there were 73 nominations by Friday, and seven candidates had declined.

These included Finance Minister Nhlanhla Nene, prosecutor Gerrie Nel and former first lady Graca Machel, she said.

She said candidates such as former President Thabo Mbeki were not formally nominated through the process, but verbally, and therefore were not considered.

“The Committee is very impressed with the calibre of nominees and applicants received and this is an indication that South Africans thoroughly applied their minds in putting forward their nominees,” she said.

The CVs will be released on Parliament’s website,” she said.

“We are all trying to get the best public protector.”

She said over 90% of the candidates met the requirements.

Candidates would receive a questionnaire to complete and return it to the committee to help with the shortlisting process and interviews

The questionnaires are also due July 8.

Khoza said they would like to have the shortlisting of candidates done as soon as possible thereafter.

The committee will do interviews after the August 3 elections and have until August 31 to present a candidate to the National Assembly.

Madonsela’s term ends October 1.

Here is the full list of candidates, including those who could not be contacted and those who declined the nomination:

  1. Bernard Peter Agulhas
  2. Adv Rhulani Ralph Baloyi
  3. Prof Narnia Bohler-Muller
  4. Vincent James Botto
  5. Adv Nonkosi Princess Cetywayo
  6. Raymond Edward Chalom
  7. Prof Pierre de Vos
  8. Judge Sirajudien Desai
  9. Phillip Dexter
  10. Adv Pumeza Futshane
  11. Nombonisa Gasa
  12. Adv Mathys Johannes Gildenhuys
  13. Adv MT Goodman (nee Shai)
  14. Pregs Govender
  15. Prof Alexander Mzamo Gumbi
  16. Adv Mark Andrew Hawyes
  17. Nick Haysom
  18. Adv William Andrew Hofmeyr
  19. Adv Zarina Kellerman (nee Prasadh)
  20. Adv KB Kgoroeadira
  21. Ashook Kirpal
  22. Burt Silverston Laing
  23. Ms Muvhango Lukhaimane
  24. Adv Mohale Joseph Maluleke
  25. Adv Kevin Sifiso Malunga
  26. Lynnette Gail Marais
  27. Busisiwe Mkhwebane
  28. Vickqus Nkosikhona Mncube
  29. Adv Hishaam Mohamed
  30. M Mohlala-Mulaudzi
  31. Adv Chris Madibeng Mokoditwa
  32. Ronnie Samuel Mokoena
  33. Thokwane Phineas Post Moloto
  34. Tjitlo Monaledi
  35. Audrey Mpofu
  36. Adv Dali Mpofu SC
  37. Adv Loyiso Khanyisa Bunye Mpumlwana
  38. M Mthebule
  39. Adv MM Mthembu
  40. Themba Phillip Mthethwa
  41. Adv Philani Pilatu Sydney Mthethwa
  42. Janine Kim Myburgh
  43. Krish Naidoo
  44. Malcolm John Sphiwe Nhleko
  45. Sophy Moipone Noko
  46. Vuyokazi Pamella Noncembu
  47. Nokuthula Sincercia Nwaoshai
  48. Mthuthuzeki Moshesh Nyiki
  49. Jill Claudelle Oliphant
  50. Kaajal Ramjathan-Keogh
  51. Tshepiso David Humphrey Ramphele
  52. Riaz Achmed Saloojee
  53. Jonas Ben Sibanyoni
  54. MBoiki-John Tamako
  55. Adv Tseliso Thipanyane
  56. Adv Randal Titus
  57. Khunoana Harry Tswago
  58. Vuyisa Vuza
  59. Hermanus Lambertus Waldicks
  60. Justice Sharise Weiner
  61. Prince Sefako Mafojane
  62. Adv Thuli Madonsela (term cannot be renewed)
  63. Graca Simbine Machel (nomination declined)
  64. Bawinile May Thabethe (nomination declined)
  65. Adv Vusi Pikoli (nomination declined)
  66. Gerrie Nel (nomination declined)
  67. Nhlanhla Nene (nomination declined)
  68. Justice Yvonne Mokgoro (nominated declined)
  69. Zola Majavu (nomination declined)
  70. Adv Zwelethu Madasa (not contactable)
  71. Adv Mojankunyane Gumbi (not contactable)
  72. Adv Andrea Gabriel SC (not contactable)
  73. Melanie Bernard (Fryer) (not contactable)

News24\Business Tech


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *