A guide to the major museums of South Africa.

Over 300 of around 1000 museums in Africa are located in South Africa.  The government helps fund them although they act autonomously.  Check out our list of South African museums below:

Ditsong Museums of South Africa – Pretoria

  • Kruger House Museum – Pretoria
  • National Cultural History Museum (NCHM) – Pretoria
  • Pioneer Museum – Pretoria
  • Sammy Marks Museum – Pretoria
  • South African National Museum of Military History – Johannesburg
  • South African Rugby Museum
  • Ditsong National Museum of Natural History – Pretoria
  • Tswaing Crater Museum – Pretoria
  • Willem Prinsloo Agricultural Museum (WPAM) – Pretoria

Iziko Museums of Cape Town (Southern Flagship Institutions)

  • Bertram House Museum – Cape Town
  • Bo-Kaap Museum – Cape Town
  • Groot Constantia Manor House & Wine Museum – Cape Town
  • Koopmans-de Wet House – Cape Town
  • Michaelis Collection – Cape Town
  • Natale-Labia Collection – Muizenburg
  • Planetarium Museum – Cape Town
  • Rust en Vreugd Museum – Cape Town
  • SAS Somerset – Cape Town
  • Slave Lodge – Cape Town
  • South African Maritime Museum – Cape Town
  • South African Museum – Cape Town
  • South African National Gallery – Cape Town
  • Westcoast Fossil Park – Langebaan
  • William Fehr Collection – Cape Town

Afrikaans Language Museum – Paarl
Albany Museum – Grahamstown
Anglo-Boer War/South African War Museum – Bloemfontein
Apartheid Museum – Johannesburg
District Six Museum – Cape Town
Freedom Park – Pretoria
Gold of Africa Museum – Cape Town
Geology Education Museum (The) – Durban
Hector Petersen Museum – Johannesburg
Kleinplasie Living Open Air Museum – Cape Town
Lydenburg Museum – Mpumalanga
Ladysmith Siege Museum – Ladysmith
McGregor Museum – Kimberley
Marie Rawdon Museum – Cape Town
Melrose House – Pretoria
Natal Museum – Pietermaritzburg
National Museum – Bloemfontein
Nasionale Afrikaanse Letterkundige Museum en Navavorsingsentrum (NALN) – Bloemfontein
Nelson Mandela Museum – Umtata
Open Mine, Kimberley Mine Museum (The) (The Big Hole) – Kimberley
South African Air Force Museum (SAAF) – Pretoria & Cape Town
South African National Railway and Steam Museum – Johannesburg
Stellenbosch Village Museum – Cape Town
Talana Museum – Dundee
Port Elizabeth Museum Complex – Humewood, Port Elizabeth
Robben Island Museum – Cape Town
Roodepoort Museum – Roodepoort
Voortrekker Museum – Pretoria
William Humphrey’s Art Gallery – Kimberley

University museums

  • Department of Historical Papers – Johannesburg
  • Geology Education Museum (The) – Durban
  • Life Sciences Museum – Johannesburg
  • Mapungubwe Collection – Pretoria
  • Museum of Anthropology and Archaeology – Pretoria
  • Museum of Classical Archaeology – Durban
  • Wits University Archives – Johannesburg
  • Wits University Museums – Johannesburg

Source: www.info.gov.za


You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>