, ,

A Complete Political Map of South Africa

About South Africa

South Africa is the African country that occupies the most southern part of Africa. It is bordered by Botswana, Mozambique, Namibia, Swaziland, and Zimbabwe and it surrounds the small Kingdom of Lesotho. South Africa has a coastline on both the South Atlantic Ocean in west and the Indian Ocean in east.

The country occupies an area of 1,221,000 km², compared it is larger than four times the size of Italy, or slightly less than twice the size of the U.S. state of Texas. Highest mountain in South Africa is Mafadi 3,450 metres (11,320 ft), a peak on the border of South Africa and Lesotho and part of the Drakensberg (“Dragon Mountains”), the highest mountain range in Southern Africa.

South Africa has a population of 50.5 million people (Official estimate 2011), the country’s administrative capital is Pretoria; legislative capital is Cape Town and the judicial capital isBloemfontein (Mangaung), largest city is Johannesburg.

Spoken languages are English, Afrikaans, Zulu, Xhosa, and others.

The detailed map below is showing South Africa and surrounding countries with international borders, the national capitals, province capitals, major cities, main roads, railroads and airports.

[Click to enlarge]



South African cities and towns

Map shows the location of following cities and towns in South Africa:

Alesander Bay, Aliwal North, Amanzimtoti, Barberton, Beaufort West, Bethlehem, Bhisho, Bitterfontein, Bloemfontein (judicial capital of South Africa, Sesotho name is Mangaung), Bohlokong, Calvinia, Cape Town (third most populous city and the legislative capital), Carnarvon, De Aar,Durban (major seaport and the third largest city), East London, George, Germiston, Graaff-Uitenhage, Grahamstown, Heidelberg, Hotazel, Johannesburg(largest city and industrial and mining capital), Kenhardt, Kimberley, Klawer, Klerksdorp, Knysna, Kroonstad, Krugersdorp, Ladysmith, Madadeni, Mafikeng, Middelburg, Mkuze, Mosselbay, Musina (Messina), Nababeep, Nelspruit(Mbombela), Newcastle, Orkney, Oudtshoorn, Paarl, Piet Retief, Pietermaritzburg, Polokwane (formerly Pietersburg; capital of Limpopo province), Port Alfred, Port Elizabeth (major seaport), Port Nolloth, Port Shepstone, Port St Johns,Pretoria (administrative and de facto capital of South Africa, official name since 2005 is Tshwane), Queenstown, Reinet, Richards Bay, River View, Rustenburg (a major city in North West Province), Saldanha, Sishen, Springbok, Stanger, Stellenbosch, Strand, Ulundi, Umtata, Upington, Vereeniging, Victoria West, Volksrust, Vredenburg, Vryheid, Welkom, Williston, Witbank, and Worcester.

Source: nationsonline


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *