114 Countries South Africans Can Now Travel To Without A Visa

A visa grants official permission for a non-citizen to enter a country and remain there for a limited duration. Each country can attach its own conditions to their visas, such as duration of stay, the territory covered by the visa, dates of validity, whether the visa is valid for more than one visit, etc. Historically, visas were originally granted by immigration officials on a traveller’s arrival at the borders of a country, but increasingly today a traveler wishing to enter another country must apply well in advance for a visa.

The stricter visa policies are due in part to immigrants from impoverished countries flocking to more economically developed countries in search of better opportunities, placing strain on many countries’ healthcare systems and other social services. However, many countries have bilateral agreements in place to waive visa requirements altogether for visitors intending to stay for brief periods of time.

Do you know that with South African passport, you can now visit these 114 countries around the world VISA FREE or VISA ON ARRIVAL? There are a number of countries that require that South Africans secure visa before they are allowed into the country which in most cases, leads to endless paperwork, unplanned spending and more bureaucratic stress. However, it is important that you are aware that your South African passport is more than you think of it in terms of what it can do as it can grant you entry to quite a number of countries without visa but note that entry requirements change constantly so it is always advisable to check with the embassy of any country close to the time of your travel. Nonetheless, as of today, here is a comprehensive list of countries for which no prior visa arrangement is needed for entry if you are a South African with a South African Passport:

Countries South Africans can go to without a Visa?
Due to good international relationship between South Africa and several other countries, you would not be wrong to expect an ample number of countries to be on the list below:

  • Brazil – 90 days
  • Antigua and Barbuda – 1 month
  • Argentina – 90 days
  • Costa Rica – 90 days
  • Ireland
  • Vanuatu – 30 days
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados – 6 months
  • Chile – 90 days
  • Belize
  • Venezuela – 90 days
  • Benin – 30 days
  • Haiti – 3 months
  • Botswana – 90 days
  • Guyana – 3 months
  • Saint Kitts and Nevis – 3 months
  • Nepal – 90 days
  • Jamaica
  • Ecuador – 90 days
  • Dominica – 6 months
  • Colombia – 180 days
  • Saint Lucia – 6 weeks
  • Guatemala – 90 days
  • Malawi – 90 days
  • Dominican Republic – 30 day tourist card must be purchased on arrival.
  • El Salvador – 90 days
  • Zambia – 90 days
  • Peru – 180 days
  • Namibia – 3 months
  • Fiji – 4 months
  • Nauru Georgia – 90 days within 180 days
  • Paraguay – 90 days
  • Micronesia – 30 days
  • Rwanda – 90 days
  • Grenada – 3 months
  • Nicaragua – 90 days
  • Uruguay – 90 days
  • Philippines – 30 days
  • Honduras – 90 days
  • Panama – 180 days
  • Lesotho – 30 days
  • Israel – 90 days
  • Malaysia – 90 days
  • Mozambique – 3 months
  • Tanzania – 90 days
  • South Korea – 30 days
  • Mauritius – 90 days
  • New Zealand – 90 days
  • Saint Vincent and the Grenadines – 1 month
  • Singapore – 30 days
  • Zimbabwe – 3 months
  • Swaziland – 30 days
  • Trinidad and Tobago – 90 days
  • Thailand – 1 month (air) / 15 days (land)

Below are more countries that offer fewer restrictions to South Africans. All the listed countries would allow you to travel without a visa however, most of the countries in this section would preferably issue a visa on arrival. This removes the hassles and delays involved in securing visa before travel as the visas are almost always granted once you have a genuine reason and as mentioned earlier, it is imperative that you check with the country’s immigration very close to the time of your travel as visa policies change frequently.

Countries that Issue South Africans Visa on Arrival

  • Indonesia – 30 days
  • Bolivia – 90 days
  • Madagascar – 30 days
  • Armenia – Visa on arrival
  • Tunisia – 1 month
  • Comoros
  • Mauritania
  • Jordan – 30 days
  • Guinea-Bissau – 90 days
  • Maldives – 30 days
  • Burundi – 30 days; obtainable at Bujumbura International Airport
  • Cambodia – 30 days
  • Oman
  • Iran – Conditions apply
  • Palau – 30 days
  • Ethiopia
  • Gabon – Visa not required for children under 16
  • Botswana
  • Djibouti
  • Samoa – 60 days
  • Zambia
  • Senegal – 3 months
  • Rwanda
  • Saint Helena
  • Madagascar (Visa on arrival)
  • Malawi
  • Cape Verde
  • Timor-Leste – 30 days
  • Seychelles 1 month
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Senegal
  • Gabon
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Somalia
  • Mozambique
  • Uganda
  • Zimbabwe
  • Togo – 7 days Benin
  • Kyrgyzstan – 30 days
  • Laos – 30 Days
  • Somalia – 30 days provided an invitation letter issued by the sponsor has been submitted to the Airport Immigration Department at least 2 days before arrival.
  • Tuvalu – 1 month
  • Turkey issues e-visa for 3 months

When it comes to crossing international frontiers, there’s one travel document that opens more doors than any other. And it isn’t a U.S. passport. German citizens, it seems, have the potential for the greatest mobility in the travel world. With a German passport, travelers can enter 177 out of 218 countries and territories without a visa, according to the 2016 Visa Restrictions Index.

Immediately behind Germany, holding its position as runner-up for the second year running, is Sweden with visa-free access to 176 countries.

Japan and South Korea were also among the group in the top three in 2014 and 2015, but have slid down to fifth and sixth place respectively this year. Belgium, Denmark and Netherlands stand alongside the U.S. in fourth.

At the bottom of the list, labeled countries with the “worst passports,” are Afghanistan, at 104, followed by Pakistan, Iraq, Somalia, and Syria.

The top ranking country in Africa is Seychelles -an archipelago of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean off East Africa, with a population of 90,000 people. Seychelles citizens have access to 129 countries.

The Seychelles Ministry of Foreign Affairs has revealed it places a priority on negotiating for bilateral visa waiver agreements when it engages in diplomatic relations with any state. While the majority of these visa waivers are obtained for all Seychelles passport holders, there are at least 5 according to the Seychelles Ministry of Foreign Affairs website which are for diplomatic and official passport holders only.  Negotiations are ongoing with some of those countries to allow visa free entry for all passport types, including with the United Arab Emirates which the Seychelles government says it is currently finalizing negotiations on the matter. Currently, only citizens holding Seychelles diplomatic and special passports can enter in the UAE without a visa as part of a visa waiver agreement which the Seychelles government signed in 2012.

Mauritius is second on the list, with 124, and South Africa is third, Botswana, Kenya and Namibia follow suit.


You Might Also Like

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>